The Board

Arnold Tsunga

Arnold Tsunga is the Director of the Africa Regional Programme of the International Commission of Jurists, as well as the Executive Director of Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights (ZLHR) and the acting Executive Secretary of the Law Society of Zimbabwe (LSZ).He served as a Humphrey Fellow at the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota. In 2006, he was awarded the Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders and he was honered as a Human Rights Defender in 2006 by Human Rights Watch.

Ms. Seeham Samaai (Chairperson)

Ms. Seeham Samaai is the Director of the University of the Western Cape’s Legal Aid Clinic. She holds a B Proc Degree and has been an admitted attorney since 2001. As an attorney Ms. Samaai has also worked with the Legal Resources Centre and Lawyers for Human Rights. She is both a member of the Cape of Good Hope Law Society and the National Association of Democratic Lawyers. She also currently serves on the Western Cape Provincial Housing Development Board.

Professor Benjamin Khoapa

Prof. Benjamin Khoapa is a former Vice Chancellor of Technikon Natal in Durban and brings a wealth of experience to our Board. Prof. Khoapa has a PhD in Social Welfare, an MSc in Social Administration and a BA in Sociology and Criminology. He has served on numerous boards including the National Innovation Trust Fund, is a former member of the Certification Council for Technikon Education and has twice been Chair of the Committee of Technikon Principals. He has worked as a consultant to the Department of Education and was the Pro-Vice Chancellor for Mergers and Transformation at the Durban Institute of Technology between 2002 and 2003.